The names of these areas will change before the civic elections in Lucknow, know here


    Image Source : FILE PHOTO
    UP CM Yogi Adityanath


    • Many areas named after right wing thinkers
    • The opposition has called the move politically motivated.
    • ‘Many aspects were considered before taking the decision’

    UP News: The Lucknow Municipal Corporation, dominated by the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) at the Center and in the state, has decided to rename several areas after freedom fighters and right-wing ideologues ahead of civic polls later this year. The opposition has called the move politically motivated. However, Lucknow Mayor Sanyukta Bhatia said that its aim is to end the symbols and legacy of British rule and to honor the people who fought for the country’s independence and progress.

    Municipal officials said that the new names were decided in the meeting of the municipal executive committee and they have been sent to the government for approval. According to the proposals, the names of Hinduist leaders Vinayak Damodar Savarkar, Jan Sangh founder Syama Prasad Mookerjee and Vishwa Hindu Parishad leader Ashok Singhal have been suggested for the name change.

    Burlington Square named after Ashok Singhal

    A proposal to name Burlington Square after Ashok Singhal, known for his staunch Hindu views, has been approved. Singhal was also playing a leading role in the Ram Mandir movement in Ayodhya. The Municipal Corporation has named the gate built in Sarvodaya Nagar as ‘Swatantra Veer Vinayak Damodar Savarkar Dwar’.

    Tikonia Park to be named after Syama Prasad Mookerjee

    Savarkar was a prominent leader of the Hindu Mahasabha. The committee has also given green signal to rename Tikoniya Park at Nirala Nagar after Syama Prasad Mookerjee. Sanjay Gandhi Puram Square has been renamed as Chandrashekhar Azad Square. Apart from this, the name of Viram Khand Ram Bhavan Square has been changed to ‘Amar Shaheed Major Kamal Kalia Chauraha’ while Azad Nagar Colony Park in Sarojini Nagar has been named after Mangal Pandey, the hero of the first freedom struggle of 1857 against the British.

    Mini stadium named after former BJP MLA

    The intersection near the statue of Maharaja Suheldev Rajbhar in Lalbagh is named after Suheldev. Suheldev was a king of Shravasti who is known to have defeated and killed Ghazi Mian at Bahraich in 1034 AD. The Municipal Executive Committee has also approved to name the mini stadium in Rajajipuram after former BJP MLA Suresh Srivastava.

    Mayor of Lucknow said – don’t connect it with politics

    The crossing of Meena Bakery has been renamed after Maulana Mirza Mohammad Athar, former chairman of Shia Personal Law Board of India. When asked whether the name change has been done keeping in mind the upcoming civic polls, the Lucknow Mayor said it should not be associated with politics at all. He said that many aspects were considered before taking the decision, some names reflecting the British heritage, which should be replaced with the names of freedom fighters.

    Latest Uttar Pradesh News

    Source link


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here